My Ruby

There’s a second part to my triathlon story…a very surreal moment in time that can only be defined as destiny, fate, a predestined happenstance.

As we were walking up the hill to the parking lot after the triathlon (Donnie pushing my bike and me carrying my bag), a lady joined us in our walk near the campground. She asked how the triathlon went and I told her it was my first time and how I met my goals and had such a great experience. She said she liked to watch these types of events and used to be an avid cyclist. She noticed I rode Specialized and mentioned that she may be looking to sell her Specialized Ruby Comp because she was no longer in good health to ride (she had bad disks in her back and neck). My ears immediately perked up because she said RUBY! That’s the kind of bike that I was beginning to look into as an upgrade from my Dolce. (Ruby is the female version of the Roubaix that Donnie has.) We talked about it for a minute, but she wasn’t sure what size it was or the specs. I gave her my e-mail address and phone number, and after chatting a while longer about bikes, our weight loss and family, we parted ways. I was thinking: Well, that’s neat that we met this really nice lady looking to sell a bike that I want, but it’s probably not my size and too expensive anyway. Oh well, maybe she’ll e-mail me some info and we’ll think about it. Isn’t it nice to dream?

Later, Donnie and I went to Panera Bread for lunch and we started talking about how strange it was that we met this lady. We started thinking of all the possibilities when lo and behold, my phone rings. It was her! I was so happy to hear that the bike was my size, a 2008 model only ridden 350 miles! She invited us to her home to look at it and test ride it. Needless to say, about two hours later, I had a new bike!

20130907-161032.jpg
It is super clean, well maintained and just absolutely perfect for me! Black and pink carbon fiber. Chic. Beautiful. They still had the owner’s manual, original sales receipt and everything. The only bad part is that I had to go to the ATM for cash and then mail her the balance because I didn’t even bring my checkbook! After completing our transaction and chatting a bit more, we drove away with TWO bikes on our roof. I was like Did that really just happen? Is this real life? Did I just get a new bike?! What?!

What an amazing flippin’ day.

Donnie got her ready and I rode 10 miles the very next day, sore legs from the tri and all. I was surprised I didn’t have bugs in my teeth because I’m pretty sure I was smiling the entire ride. I couldn’t help thinking how lucky I was, blessed, and in the right place at the right time. How amazing. And she feels truly like MY bike. Not that my Dolce didn’t feel like mine, but I just feel like this was meant to be. A surreal moment in time. Destiny. Fate. A predestined happenstance. She just got the original handle bars put back on and new tape…a tune up, alignment, etc. Ready! I am going to be spending some serious time in the saddle in the coming weeks getting ready for our Bike MS trip. We just finished the Catch Me If You Can ride in Hindman, KY this morning, then Benge’s Revenge in Norton the next weekend, then Bike MS: Breakaway to the Beach, then Tour de Crackers Neck in Big Stone Gap. So when you see a girl riding a black and pink bullet down the road, you know it’s me. Look out! I don’t like to slow down.
Here’s a couple good shots of the ride in Hindman, KY today.

20130907-161208.jpg

20130907-161339.jpg

1 thought on “My Ruby

  1. How exciting!! I never knew how much difference a good bike made until I was in high school and we rented mountain bikes in Colorado. I had an “aha” moment. They were just basic Treks too. Then, when I met Chris and first rode a REALLY nice bike, I had another aha moment. Now I’m a certified bike snob. LOL I don’t have a road bike, but I can imagine in a tri or road race having a good bike would make a HUGE difference!

Leave a comment